Home > hmmmm.... > The day Osama died.

The day Osama died.


Today I woke up to find out that Osama bin Laden had been captured and killed yesterday, Sunday April 1st, 2011. Pczech and I were debating on dinner locations, and then went forth ion our journey. In Pakistan, US military were putting bullets in a man’s head leaving him dead.

I wish I had any celebratory instincts or gusto in me but alas i do not. How can I celebrate a man’s execution regardless of who they are and regardless of their evil deeds.

One of my aunts (Sita, with whom I was closest to) unwillingly left her 5 year old beautiful daughter and died in Tower 2 of the World Trade Center in New York on September 11th, 2001. I woke up to see that event take place then, and I woke up to hear the news of another death today.

I will NEVER get the live images of the planes crashing into the Trade Center out of my mind, not would I want to. They are a part of me too just as she is.

I desperately wish to erase Osama’s bloody death from it.

Today, the world knows Obama’s victory in the ‘war on terror’; they also know that his victory came by means of an act of violence no matter how rational/justified it was.

In suppose ‘an eye for an eye’ has blinded our world entirely.

R.I.P Auntie Sita Sewnarine

I know you are looking down on us all with your angelic spirit.

p.s. I attend church now lol. You win haahaa! miss you.

❤ Sar

Categories: hmmmm....
  1. Rie
    May 2, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    Sadly, violence cycles. Forgive me for being a pessimist, but I know that there’ll be another Bin Laden, another Saddam, another Mubarak, another Gadhafi, another charming dictator that people will sadly mindlessly follow. (If I ever fall into that trap, please whack my head or something equally effective). I’ve never believed in the whole “war on terror” crap. I am unfeeling, I guess, since I don’t have a personal connection to 9/11. To me, it is sad that people died and I do mourn their loss, your loss and the loss of many others. But the rational part of my brain (which sadly outweighs the emotional part v_v) tells me that it is irrational to wish for more blood and hatred to be spilled to avenge the fallen. Humans are idiots for choosing revenge over peace and I admit that I, too, am human. I don’t agree with waging war on terror by inflicting terror. I didn’t need the TED talk on empathy to come to that conclusion. I quite sad, actually, that a lot of the work in Human Factors (the field I want to go to) is in Defense. They apparently ask in the interview “Are you comfortable with the fact that the systems you design will/may eventually be used to kill?”

    I hope we can all heal at some point and learn to co-exist without needing weapons. Verbal artillery is enough, I think. We already do a lot of damage with them.

    Sorry for the rant. Promise me you won’t do anything rash (Re: your post about the doctor). Focus on what you have and not on what you don’t or what you’ve lost. Easier said than done, I know. I’m struggling with it too. But I really think it’s a good idea.

  2. May 2, 2011 at 4:25 pm

    sweetheart!!
    ugh, i couldn’t so what you do!! they ask u such things?? =(
    I get pissy but that is about all. feel pity on my guy Pczech lol. he gets to be all grumpy with me… :S

    also, you are the sweetest girl ever and you’ll never lose yourself or your core. you have values that guide you and that is b/c you kick butt. =D

    xoxoxoxo always!

  3. May 3, 2011 at 2:27 pm

    var _pbwid=1466052; var _pbwt=3

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

